Internet, Algorithms and Digital Society

 

In this webcast, Danish Nadeem and Shivam Maruya from the Foundation London Story explore the possibilities of Ethical AI and responsive algorithms for building better societies with Sabir Bhatia.

Open-Source Diplomacy

 

Can diplomacy be open and transparent? Simone Filipini talks to Yann Philippin and Fredrik Galtung.

May 5 (Tuesday), 11.00 – 12.15 CET / 14.30 – 15.45 IST

Data Privacy & Surveillance

In this panel, we speak to Osama Manzar, Hindol Sengupta and Dr Joseph Cannataci on the India-EU digital partnership and the idea of ‘Digital Single Market’. Indian Data protection laws are inspired by the European GDPR. However, there are serious concerns both at the end of the EU as well as in India on the overbearing role that the state can play with access of the data.

May 5 (Wedn.), 12.30 – 13.45 CET / 16.00 – 17.15 IST

Scientific Research on Misinformation and Platform Regulation

 

Dr Manuvie, speaks to Dr Saikaat Chaterjee, Dr Sahana Udupa and Dr. Kiran Garimella on the state of technology to disrupt and tackle the Hate Speech and Disinformation online. The panel consider the role of NLP models, the status of AI and exhibit the state of art research conducted by the speakers in their respective fields.

May 5 (Wedn.), 16.45 – 18.00 CET / 20.15 – 21:30 IST

Defund the Hate 

 

How can we disrupt the funding of Hate speech? In this panel Dr. Ritumbra Manuvie speaks to Harriet Kingaby, Richard Wilson and Raqib Hameed Naik on few of the successful campaign models to defund the hate.

May 6, 13.30 – 14.45 CET/ 17.00 – 18.15 IST

Age of Disinformation and Hate Speech

 

Large-scale disinformation and hate-speech campaigns are creating societal and political disruptions around the world. Dr Ritumbra Manuvie talks to N. Ram, Alaphia Zoyaab and Pratik Sinha on how fake news has changed the landscape of media in India and what needs to be done to combat it.

May 7 (Friday), 11.00 – 12.30 CET / 14.30 – 15.00 IST 

Platform Regulation

 

Can we expect platforms to be more responsible? Are there legal reasons to remove vitriolic content and conspiracy theories? Dr. Ritumbra Manuvie speaks to Esha Bhandari, Rita Jabri-Markwell, and Karuna Nundy on possible legal actions.

May 7 (Friday), 16.00 – 17.15 CET/ 19.30 – 20.45 IST 

Menu